18 January 2022

Awards Showcase: Exemplary Work in Practice and in Research
Date and Time:
Tuesday, January 18
Newfoundland 1:30 pm
Atlantic 1:00 pm
Eastern 12 noon
Central 11 am
Mountain 10 am
Pacific 9 am
Zoom (RSVP to receive link)

Presented in English

In this showcase session, learn about an award-winning educational program (an example of practice) and award-winning research on teaching-related issues.

Showcase 1: Problem-Based, Multimedia Case Study for Learning about Forest Soils in South Africa
The incorporation of multimedia material in the problem based learning (PBL) case study, focused on soils in subtropical forests of South Africa (https://pinusradiata.soilweb.ca/), offers students a virtual international learning opportunity to gain a global perspective of forest management while comparing them to forestry practices in British Columbia. The project team included academics, multimedia producers, and learning designers from The University of British Columbia and Stellenbosch University.
Presenter: Maja Krzic is an Associate Professor in the Faculties of Land and Food Systems and Forestry at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, and a 3M Teaching Fellow.

Showcase 2: Institutional Perspectives on Faculty Development for Digital Education in Canada
As digital education at the post-secondary level grows, professional development that prepares faculty to teach in online and blended settings is necessary. In this study, we analyzed open-ended comments from the Canadian Digital Learning Research Association’s annual survey of Canadian post-secondary institutions (2017-2019) to deepen our understanding of faculty training and support for digital education as articulated by higher education institutions. Our findings have implications for research and professional development practices.
Presenters:
• Charlene A. VanLeeuwen is Coordinator of the Teaching and Learning Centre at the University of Prince Edward Island.
• Nicole Johnson is the Research Director of the Canadian Digital Learning Research Association and has been involved in the field of educational technology for over a decade.
• Olga Belikov works in the Centre for Educational Excellence at Simon Fraser University providing leadership and support to online and blended course initiatives.
To Reserve: Visit this link.

===================================

14 December 2021

Looking Forward to 2022: Emerging Technologies for Education
Date and Time:
Tuesday, December 14
Newfoundland 1:30 pm
Atlantic 1:00 pm
Eastern 12 noon
Central 11 am
Mountain 10 am
Pacific 9 am
Zoom (RSVP to receive link)
Presented in English
If nothing else, the pandemic demonstrated the importance of educational technology to the broader community. And as the pandemic wanes (we hope), experts expect automation and artificial intelligence to disrupt work, the economy, and education over the next decade. That means educational technology seems poised to continuing playing a central spot in education.
What no one knows is how.
In this interactive discussion, members of the CNIE community interact with experts to discuss the “how.” Specifically, this discussion anticipates how the following technologies might affect education in the years ahead:

  • Artificial intelligence related technologies, like automated marking of essays, speech and visual recognition, and personalized tutoring
  • Learning and similar management systems, including blockchain-based record-keeping
  • Learning analytics
  • Emerging areas, like learning engineering and learning experience design

Experts include:

  • Stephen Downes, PhD, Researcher, National Research Council
  • Ann Hill Duin, PhD, Professor and former Associate CIO, University of Minnesota
  • Mathew Georghiou, Founder, CEO, and Chief Experience Officer, MediaSpark

To Reserve: Visit this link.

===================================

19 October 2021

Join CNIE for Our Next Virtual Showcase, October 19

What? Join CNIE for its first Virtual Showcase event. This two-part event features two parts, each exploring open-ness:

  1. Open Networking: An opportunity to meet other members of the field through a brief and informal discussion of a topic of mutual interest.
  2. Awards Showcase, which provides designers’ perspectives about their award-winning work (recognized in the most recent CNIE awards program). This month:

A Path to Open Pedagogy through Open Educational Resources: Educator created Open Education Resources (OER) are finally starting to get the attention they deserve as textbook alternatives. While there is a focus on the cost saving and access implications of OER, few are exploring the pedagogical possibilities offered by these tools in the classroom. Over the last few years, my students and I created, published, and then polished a Spanish OER textbook that allows students to control their learning path as they develop open content within an open learning framework. This presentation will talk about the process, the product, and the pedagogical outcomes of student created OER.

Presented by award-winner, Michael Dabrowski.

When?

Tuesday, October 19
12:00 – 1:00 pm Eastern
1:30 – 2:30 pm Newfoundland
1:00 – 2:00 pm Atlantic
11:00 am – 12:00 pm Central
10:00 am – 11:00 am Mountain
9:00 am – 10:00 am Pacific

Zoom (RSVP required to receive link)

How to RSVP: By noon Eastern Time, Monday, October 18 at this link.